## 2018 NPIEN Christina Diaz Student Scholar Awards

Named after the late Christina Diaz, a NPIEN sponsor and supporter, college, high school and middle school students are nominated by their school counselors, teachers or administrators based on their academic and extracurricular achievements. Each student will received the Christina Diaz medal-of-honor, and certificates from local legislators. Several students will be selected for Scholarship awards ranging from \$100-\$500, which will be announced on October 27, 2018 at Paramount High School.

**College Students** 

Name	College or University
Kharyssa Malone	Grand Canyon University
Te Raumati Hawea	Mt. San Jacinto Community College

**High School Students** 

Name	School/School District
Reylin Aupiu (12)	Carson High School, Los Angeles USD
Alofaifo Faleono (12)	Jordan High School, Long Beach USD
Fiapito Faiai (12)	Lakewood High School, Long Beach USD
Tamara Lemao Finai (12)	Paramount High School, Paramount USD
Senituli Finau (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton USD
Nadia Su'a Keohuloa (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton USD
Christina McDonald (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton USD
Mareta Niupulusu (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton USD
Ian Pula Jr. (12)	Centennial High School, Compton USD
Na'oiaigali Senlo (12)	Lakewood High School, Long Beach USD
Telesia Tedtaotao (10)	Paramount High School, Paramount USD
Toben Torres (12)	Los Alamitos High School, Los Alamitos
	USD

**Scholarship Winners** \*\* = \$500 \* = \$100

Anita Barrios Memorial Scholarship: Ian Pula Jr. \*\*

Mae'Ole Hoku/Linda Vaka Memorial Scholarship: Toben Torres \*\*

Sarah Tanimoto Memorial Scholarship: Nadia Su'a Keohuloa \*\*

NT & Associates /Christina Diaz Memorial Scholarship: Mareta Niupulusiu\*\*

Atonio Kavea/Ohana Hawaiian BBQ Scholarship: Alofaifo Faleono\*\*

Uncle Henry Kamae/Thompson Family Scholarship: Fiapito Faiai\*

Melaleuca/Soledad Santos Scholarship: Reylin Aupiu\*

Cliff Kusaba/Henry Chang Scholarship: Tamara Lemao Finai\*

Pasifika Investments/Heartland Institute Scholarship: Te Raumati Havea\*

## 2018 NPIEN EDUCATOR AND COMMUNITY AWARDS RECIPIENTS

**Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa Community Award Winners:** Named after the late Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa, founding NPIEN board member and a teacher in the Compton Unified School District and promoter of the education in the Pacific Islander community, these awards are given to organizations or individuals who have shown exemplary for NPIEN and its programs. The awards recipients will receive a plaque and certificates.

- Maria Estrada, Community Worker, Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
- Amy and Omar Sloan, Amy's Trophies

**Sevia Ma'ae Educator Award Winners:** The late Sevia Ma'ae was a gifted and talented education (GATE) program teacher in the Lynwood Unified School District and founding NPIEN Board Member. Educators selected for this award have shown outstanding dedication and service to Pacific Islander students and the community.

- Oralia Cordova, Assistant Principal, Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
- Kimberly Roman, Counselor, Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
- Michelle Lobendahn, Counselor, Norwalk High School, Norwalk La Mirada Unified School District
- Sala Auelua, Counselor, Cajon High School, San Bernardino Unified School District