# NPIEN's 15th Annual Education Conference at Lakewood High School November 5, 2016

# **KEYNOTE SPEAKERS**



Dr. Karen Janney, Superintendent Sweetwater Union High School District



**Ukulele Artist Hoku Bray** 



Melody O. Ngaue-Tu'uholoaki Inglewood Unified School District Board President



Justin Fatu Su'e Su'e USC Thornton Master's Degree Student in Opera

# **MAJOR SPONSORS**

Los Angeles County Supervisor Don Knabe, Smart N Final, California Credit Union, Melaleuca, AIGA Foundation, Tafesilafa'i Pacific Islander Festival, The Comedy and Magic Club, Beach Athletics, Ohana Hawaiian BBQ, AXA Advisors LLC

# SCHOLARSHIP SPONSORS

Soledad and Frank Santos, Ken and Ginger Attwood, Pam Post, <u>Redfin Real Estate</u>, Cliff Kusaba, Karen Leon, <u>HomeAdvisors</u>

# AWARDS SPONSORS

Superintendent Michael Christensen, Orange Unified School District, Orange County Supervisor Todd Spitzer, San Diego County Supervisor Greg Cox, Los Angeles County Supervisor Don Knabe, Amy's Trophies, State Senator John M.W. Moorlach, Long Beach Unified School District Board of Education and Superintendent Chris Steinhauser, Assemblymember Tom Daly, State Senator Ricardo Lara, Assemblymember Mike Gipson

#### DOOR PRIZE SPONSORS

The Comedy and Magic Club, The Funnel House, Cerritos College, Beach Athletics, Somewhere in Paradise Designs, Long Beach Playhouse, King's Hawaiian, Alliant International University, The Queen Mary, Naples Rib Company, Go Kart World

#### COLLEGE, CAREER and MENTOR FAIR

Cerritos College, CSU East Bay, Lennox School District Teacher Renee Tiedemann Maravel, Long Beach City College, CSU Fullerton, Rutgers University, Tino Andres, Teacher, Dominguez HIgh School, Hector Molina, NPIEN President and NT & Associates, Alliant International University, Lakewood Sheriff Explorers, Wells Fargo

#### VENDORS

Melaleuca, Fetutasi's Island Souvenirs, ViVI Jewelry, <u>Guardian Princesses Alliance</u>, Somewhere in Paradise Designs, NAPAFASA

#### PRESENTERS

<u>NPIEN Northern California Chapter (Nancy Martinsen, Dr. Joe De Torres, Anjani Varma, Megan Roberto, Johnny Gogo)</u>, Somerset High School, Paramount High School, Artesia High School, Island Mix Radio's Mylay (David Brown), NPIEN Channel Coast Chapter, Paramount High School West Campus, Hughes Middle School, Dominguez High School

**CHRISTINA DIAZ STUDENT SCHOLAR AWARDS:** Named after the late Christina Diaz, Native Hawaiian NPIEN sponsor and supporter, each high school and middle school student will receive the Christina Diaz Medallion and certificates from local legislators. Eight students received scholarship awards, ranging from \$100 to \$500.

Name/Grade	School/School District
Tuiumi R. Aiono (11)	Lakewood High School, Long Beach Unified School District
Healani Barbee (11)	Artesia High School, ABC Unified School District
Bryce T. Erkelens (09)	Sato Academy of Math and Science, Long Beach Unified School District
So'onafai Faifua (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
Moeimalaetele Filoialii (12)	Manu'a High School, American Samoa
Justine Gago (12)	Manu'a High School, American Samoa
Deanna Leiataua (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
Kharyssa Malone (12)	Poly High School, Long Beach Unified School District
Jacinta Mulipola (12)	Dominguez High School, Compton Unified School District
Bryson Nihipali (12)	Harbor Teacher Preparation Academy, Los Angeles Unified School District
Destiny Ryales (10)	El Modena High School, Orange Unified School District
Rejoyce Sáega (12)	Manu'a High School, American Samoa
Pouono S. Saiaana (12)	Manu'a High School, American Samoa
Jeremiah Seă(12)	Manu'a High School, American Samoa

#### HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS

#### MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS

Name	School/School District
Kale'a Nugal (06)	Will Rogers Middle School, Lawndale School District
Keneti Pinones (06)	Bonita Christian School, Chula Vista, California
Tauelangi Asipeli Tuifua (06)	Will Rogers Middle School, Lawndale School District

**Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa Community Award Winners:** Named after the late Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa, founding NPIEN board member and a teacher in the Compton Unified School District and promoter of the education in the Pacific Islander community, these awards are given to organizations or individuals who have shown exemplary for NPIEN and its programs. The awards recipients will receive a plaque and certificates.

#### Individual or Organization

Meghan Blanco, Attorney and NPIEN Mentor, NPIEN Board Member

Jenny Chomori, NPIEN Volunteer

Bruce Lee, NPIEN Volunteer

Cliff Kusaba, NPIEN Volunteer

**Sevia Ma'ae Educator Award Winners:** The late Sevia Ma'ae was a gifted and talented education (GATE) program teacher in the Lynwood Unified School District and founding NPIEN Board Member. Educators selected for this award have shown outstanding dedication and service to Pacific Islander students and the community.

Name	School/School District
Gwen Yates	Assistant Principal, Paramount High School West Campus, Paramount Unified
Achievement Award	School District
Elizabeth Campos	Long Beach Unified School District
Achievement Award	
Dr. Diana Faatai	Los Angeles Unified School District
Tamara Calero-Hill	Counselor, Paramount High School, Paramount Unified School District

#### LONG BEACH UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Board of Education

Jon Meyer, President Megan Kerr, Vice President Diana Craighead, Member John McGinnis, Member Felton Williams, Member Christopher Steinhauser, Superintendent

#### LAKEWOOD HIGH SCHOOL

Shawn Abbate, Principal Mario Jimenez, Principal Worren Booth, Activities Director Lakewood High School Pacific Islander Club: President Tui Aiono, Vice President Nauiailogi Senio, Club Advisor, Maria Torres

#### NPIEN BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Hector Molina, President Teresa Molina, President-Elect Tino Andres, Immediate Past President Ethan Nguyen, Vice President Sean Munley, Treasurer Ruta Leio, Secretary Falanai Ala, President Emeritus Jewel Castro, Member, Washington State Representative Aileen Tanimoto Matsuura, Past President Martha Donnenfield, Past President Amaris Leiataua, On Leave of Absence for Mission in Peru ③ Nancy Martinsen, Member, Northern California Chapter President Emalina Thompson, Member, President, Atlantic Pacific Islander Chapter Tiloi Tuitama, Member, President, Channel Coast Chapter Dr. Victor C. Thompson, Executive Director Bianca Larson, Associate Executive Director and Past President

# NPIEN HONORARY BOARD MEMBERS

Ruth Perez Ashley Congressman Eni F.H. Faleomavaega Dr. Adele Satele Galeai Linda Garcia Vivian Hansen Henry Kamae Dr. Kehaulani Kauanui Assemblymember George Nakano Dr. Audrey Yamagata Noji Wallace Ali'ifua Rank **Prany Sananikone** Superintendent Chris Steinhauser **Reverend Misipouena Tagaloa** Governor Togiola T.A. Tulafono Congressman Robert A. Underwood Soledad Santos, Former Northern California Chapter President

# NPIEN FOUNDING BOARD MEMBERS

losefa Aina Sevia Ma'ae Eugene Mafi Joyce Mann Art Medina Dr. Michael Perez Freda Tanuvasa Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa

# NPIEN STAFF

John Harrington, Chief of Staff David Brown Jenny Chomori Lopaka Faria Cliff Kusaba Bruce Lee Judy Ann Sanchez