2020 NPIEN EDUCATOR AND COMMUNITY AWARDS RECIPIENTS

Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa Community Award Winners: Named after the late Dr. Alofa Tanuvasa, founding NPIEN board member and a teacher in the Compton Unified School District and promoter of the education in the Pacific Islander community, these awards are given to organizations or individuals who have shown exemplary for NPIEN and its programs. The awards recipients will receive a plaque and certificates.

Rodney Andrews

Sevia Ma'ae Educator Award Winners: The late Sevia Ma'ae was a gifted and talented education (GATE) program teacher in the Lynwood Unified School District and founding NPIEN Board Member. Educators selected for this award have shown outstanding dedication and service to Pacific Islander students and the community.

• Ian Eddy

2020 RETIREMENT AWARDS

- Aileen Tanimoto Matsuura, Past NPIEN President and Teacher, Paramount High School, Paramount Unified School District
- Ruth Perez Ashley, Deputy Superintendent, Long Beach Unified School District and Honorary NPIEN Board Member

HONORARY BOARD MEMBER RECOGNITION

• Sai Momoli, Posthumous